Writing News: Publishing, NaNoWriMo-ing, and Editing

From Sac: Outsider (Volume 4) Now Available

from-sac-for-web

Hello friends! I’m pleased to announce that the “Outsider” edition of From Sac is now available on Amazon.  There are about twenty authors, all dealing with the theme of being an outsider. I have three poems in the journal and am honored to be included in this compilation.

Other Creative Writing News

I’ve been quite busy with creative writing! Here’s what I’ve been up to.

Winning National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)

nanowrimo_2016_webbadge_municipalliaison

Not only was I an official Municipal Liaison, or ML, for NaNoWriMo, but I also won the contest by writing over 50,000 words in the month of November.

I finished my zany novel, though I wrote the last few chapters in longhand and still need to type them up!

Publishing News: Rejections are Good for the Soul

Braveheart's birthday

I’ve been pursuing homes for a few of my short stories, and am bravely forging ahead with Duotrope as my guide. I’m aiming for some tougher markets than I have in the past, so the rejections keep rolling in. But I’m persevering and plan to keep submitting my work, as well as workshopping in my local critique groups and on Scribophile.

I think the best news of all is that rejections don’t bother me like they used to. They happen, I know it isn’t personal, and I get on with my writing. What a milestone! I remember when rejections used to crush me. Now they’re just annoying, like mosquitoes, or splinters, instead of like pianos falling from third story windows. Hooray!

Copyediting Classes at UC San Diego

Gorilla typing

I’m working towards a certificate in copyediting this quarter. The reading for the courses is wonderful—I love getting to nerd out on grammar. And best of all, the classes are online, so I can do my classwork at my leisure (kind of. There are still due dates, and the material is HARD!). I’m enjoying it immensely so far.

The Year of Editing

Sprinter getting ready to run

Which brings me to my next topic: 2017 is going to be the year of editing. I have at least five novels and a handful of short stories I want to work on, not to mention all the work I want to type up from longhand! I’m looking forward to going back to my writing with a fresh eye and making it shine.

What are You Writing?

Silly man holding a banana like a gun

Wishing you all a productive, healthy and happy new year:) What are your writing plans for 2017?

Leave a Reply

