NaNoWriMo: Astrology and Insanity

jelly-fish

November first rolls around, and so National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) begins. At the same time, this is my fabulous horoscope from Rob Brezsny’s Free Will Astrology:

PISCES Feb. 19-March 20: In her book, *A Natural History of the Senses,* Diane Ackerman reports on the eccentric methods that professional writers have used to galvanize their creative process.

Poet Amy Lowell relaxed into her work day by puffing on Manila cigars. Novelist Colette plucked fleas from her cat. T. S. Eliot’s poetry thrived when he had a head cold. Novelist George Sand liked to jump out of bed after making love and immediately begin writing. Novelist William Gass, who is still among the living, wanders around outside taking photos of “rusty, derelict, overlooked, downtrodden” places. As for D. H. Lawrence: climbing mulberry trees naked energized his genius.

What about you, Pisces? Now is an excellent time to draw intensely on your reliable sources of inspiration– as well as to seek new ones.

First of all, yes, I am a Pisces (go fish!). Second of all, THIS IS THE PERFECT HOROSCOPE FOR NANOWRIMO, OMGGGGGG! (You can find your horoscope here at Rob Brezsny’s newsletter.)

…And also, D.H. Lawrence, really? Just…really? I mean hey, maybe I should start climbing mulberry trees in the buff. It couldn’t hurt, right?

fish

My NaNoWriMo Novel: Gender Bending, the Mafia, and how Stephen Might Lose his Girlfriend

The working title of my NaNoWriMo Novel is “The Marijuana Mafia” (working title). It’s a sequel to a novel I’m currently editing about a bunch of hipsters who move from Connecticut to San Francisco (picture the movie “Clueless” with a lot of gender bending in a warehouse in the Mission).

“The Marijuana Mafia” focuses on Stephen, a surly but kind-hearted guy who is trying his best not to become like his mob-boss father. Stephen accidentally hooks up with his ex-boyfriend, Cameron, and he goes into a panic that the sanest girlfriend he’s ever had, Hannah, will dump him.

However, as Stephen’s mafia family rope him into watching over a marijuana scheme in the Bay Area, his problems keep mounting and his chances of holding onto his girlfriend become slimmer and slimmer—especially when Stephen’s ex-girlfriend, Mariah, calls to let him know she is pregnant.

My NaNoWriMo Mojo

nanowrimo_2016_webbadge_municipalliaison

Why Yes I am a NaNoWriMo Liaison!

As I’m an official Municipal Liaison for NaNoWriMo this year, not only am I in charge of organizing local events and write-ins, but all my noveling friends are going to hold me accountable for writing. Talk about a fire lit under my posterior!

I just started a new job, and things are a wee bit hectic, but I will write every day I can manage it, and I’m dead set on reaching my 50,000-word goal by the end of the month.

…And yes, this blog TOTALLY counts towards my word count for the day!

book

Are you NaNoWriMo-ing?

If you are, add me as a buddy! I’m art4earthlings.

What are you writing this National Novel Writing Month?

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Astrology and Insanity

Leave a Reply

