NaNoWriMo’s Bitter-Sweet End

At the left are my project statistics for “Hunter,” the working title for my NaNoWriMo Novel.  I FINALLY FINISHED TODAY with the help of my NaNoWriMo writing group at the coffee shop today at 110,659 words.  HOLY COW!  It comes out to about 300ish pages.

…..How did I write all that in one month?

To be honest, the last week of NaNoWriMo, I got super burnt out–it happened just as I reached the 100K mark.  The end was so close, and yet, so bitter, so far.  I pushed through the last 10.5K, and am pleased to announce that my rough draft is DONE!  Yeah…It’s going to need to be edited big time.  But today, I celebrate!  I’m going to let this puppy sit for about a month, have it all printed out, and then go over the rough draft with a highlighter while dressed in my PJ’s, sipping chai tea.

For now, though, I rest on my laurels.  I rejoice!  My friend came by and gave me a massage today (aaaah!)

Me: I think my ribs are trying to gouge out my shoulder blades

Friend: Wow, your back is so tight–that’s really bad.  What did you do all month?

Me: *half sheepish, half proud*… I wrote a 300 page novel…

Friend: Whoa…you did what?  Okay, I’m going to apply some pressure now…

Me: *melts into puddle of goo*

What went well this year:

Unlike last year, when my novel came out to 500 pages over a 3 month writing course that was started in NaNoWriMo, this year, I forced myself to finish everything in one month.  It’s better that way–I didn’t follow every plot bunny that jumped across my path, so the story reads a bit more coherently.  (I hope.)

Also, being the ML (municipal liaison) for my town was awesome.  A lot of my success came from having a killer writing group–THANKS GUYS!

Lastly, the noveling software Scrivener, as always, played a big part for me.  I can’t even tell you how much I love this software–it is like photoshop for novels.  I strongly recommend that anyone who is serious about writing try this program out!

Last but not least, I made a killer playlist on grooveshark to novel to:
Hunter by rayro on Grooveshark

What my plans are for post NaNo:

Well, like I said, I’m going to let my novel sit, then read over the whole draft and make the big, sweeping changes that need to be made.  Then it’s time to edit, edit, edit.  I would like to publish this novel.  I think it has a lot of potential.  Maybe when I can get my head stuck on straight, I’ll post an excerpt here:)

And I’m going to treat myself.  I’m going out to dinner tonight.  I’m getting a pro massage tomorrow (yaaaaaaaaaar).  I pretty much need to rest my aching typing fingers and go dancing…and do more yoga.  As I survey my kingdom, I see that the dishes are piled to the ceiling, I’m out of socks and underwear, and the spiders have taken the opportunity while I was distracted to set up house…in my house.  And then there’s work….

….I’ve been avoiding that this past month, as much as possible :X

So, time to get back into life and out of my novel.  It’s a little strange, settling into life without my novel to keep me company.  But I am enjoying the sweet sweet feeling of completion.  Ahhhhhhhhhh.

Happy end of NaNoWriMo everyone.  Hope your journey was exhilarating like mine was:)

My NaNo Profile

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo’s Bitter-Sweet End

  1. congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hee hee hee. i wanna read it! i love sci fi/ fantasy. you just have ta give me a print copy… i can’t handle reading shit on the computer. i have been taking 1-2 full days a week to make art. I just finished 2 days and I can’t imagine what my house would look like if i took a whole month… foood for thought…

Leave a Reply

