The Stormy Seas of NaNoWriMo Week #2

Originally, I bought Chris Baty’s book No Plot? No Problem! to close the gap to free shipping in my Amazon shopping cart :X  Now, as I combat the stormy seas of the 2nd week of NaNoWriMo, I bless my fortune.  Chris’s words were exactly what I needed to hear:

“Don’t get it right–just write.”

Time to banish my internal editor from the confines of my mind again; time to sit down, forget about everything else, and just get my word count done.
I think I was having some serious trouble this week for violating the NaNo golden rule: Thou Shalt Not look back over thine rough draft, for thou shalt lose heart.  I started having DOUBTS, INDECISION, and worst of all:

I DIDN’T WANT TO WRITE!

My saving grace was Chris Baty’s second week pep talk, and my buddies at the write-in this week.  “Rachel,” my friend said, her fingers pausing in their frantic dance over her keyboard, “you believe in your story.  You love your story.  Stop being critical and start writing.”

Ooooh yeaaaah.  I like, forgot.

Orpheus Looks Back

Travel Tips:

1. Do not read over your manuscript!  Do!  Not!  Read!  March boldly forward into the unknown white space of your pages and do not look back, or you’ll be turned into a pillar of salt…or your girlfriend will go back into Hades…wait, wait, I’m mixing my metaphors here.  DON’T TURN BACK or you’ll be petrified of the future!

2. Get to the coffee shop and write with other WriMos in your area.  Nothing is more energizing than the tap-tap-tapping of your writing buddies next to you and their over-caffeinated cheering of your determination to write.

3. Don’t forget to eat.  No, seriously.  Sometimes, I’m bashing my head against the keyboard, unable to think of the next sentence, because I’m low on blood sugar.  Have healthy snacks at the ready.  I like putting on a big pot of soup to simmer all day, or warming up enough soup for multiple meals and putting it in a thermos.  The more good fuel you have, the more words you will write.

4. Exercise.  Bring oxygen to your brain, and your brain will think better.  Also, you’ll allow your fingers, neck, and shoulders to rest from being hunched over!  Bonus points for yoga breaks:)

5. St. John’s Wort Oil.  I repeat, St. John’s Wort Oil.  St. John’s Wort is an anti-inflammatory herb, and I’m telling you, nothing is better than rubbing olive oil infused with this herb on your aching shoulders, neck, and wrist muscles.  It helps you to go the extra mile.

Well, I’d love to stay and chat, but my goal for today is to move my book forward from part one to part two, wherein the protagonist is propelled out of the forest by her telepathic dragon friends, and, searching for her father’s murderer, comes face-to-face with a handsome young prince who is the most stuck-up, selfish, and annoying piece o poop our protagonist has ever encountered.  Let the butting of heads begin!

4 thoughts on “The Stormy Seas of NaNoWriMo Week #2

  1. Pingback: No Plot? No Problem! – Chris Baty « Stewartry

Leave a Reply

