Submitting Work for Publication; Story-a-Day

Hello friends!  This month has been momentous in many ways.

One.  I have submitted my work for publication twice.  Now I know that doesn’t sound too mind-blowing, but this is my very first time submitting work for publication.  If you know me well, you’ll know that just the thought of submitting my work has sent me hiding under my desk and cowering in fear.

Ha!  Take that, fear!  I cut you into teeny tiny pieces with my pen that is mightier than any sword; your blood will be the red rain that waters my ambitions and dreams.

The first work I submitted was one-hundred-and-one characters long, to a wonderful twitter-based zine called Nanoism.  Mother always said to start small.  Indeed, just submitting my two-liner story gave me the courage to tackle something a bit larger (though still, admittedly, bite-sized).

Next, I submitted  a piece of flash-fiction about a lachrymose zombie.  It was nine-hundred-and-forty-two words long and was given to a wonderful online publisher called Kazka Press for their flash-fiction contest of the month.  I do hope that they’ll take it.

Whether or not the work gets published, I have won.  I have overcome my debilitating fear of submitting my stories for publication.  I have learned: proper formatting for submissions, the importance of cover letters, and most importantly, I showed up for my self and for my work.  End of story!

The second wonderful and dizzying thing that has been happening this month is Story-a-Day.  I have indeed written a story a day, and now have twenty-one stories, some of which are excellent and will be submitted for publication eventually.  Yes, I know that today is the twenty-second of September and that I should have twenty-two stories; I am procrastinating by blogging, mwhahaha.

In short: this has been a month of literary challenge; of fighting fear and winning; of showing up for myself and saying, Heck yes!  I am a writer!  Here me roar!

Rwar.

Thanks for witnessing.  And cross your fingers for me: maybe I will get published, and soon!

6 thoughts on “Submitting Work for Publication; Story-a-Day

  1. Congratulations on overcoming that fear!! I’m very happy for you. 🙂 Wishing you well with your submissions – the folks over at Kazka are fine folks. 🙂 Congrats also on your story-a-day progress. Most impressive. 🙂 I decided to sit September out since I’m still weeding through my stories from May, but I’m glad to see so many others taking up the call. 😀

    • Hello my dear! Thanks so much for your warm wishes. In fact, it’s from reading your blog and your stories that I found Kazka press, so pretty much you are the inspiration there:) Thank you! And good luck on your own publication adventures!!!

      • Aww, I’m glad to have been of use. 😀 Let me know what happens with Kazka! 😀 You should check out their pro-paying holiday themed antho too – 5% of the anthology’s profits will be donated to Duotrope!

  2. I am so proud of you (now and always). Whether or not you get published, I, for one, think you have a great talent and you should keep working at it. Love you.

Leave a Reply

